PSE 9 is saving my colors incorrectly?

Snacko

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm a noob to this forum and also new to photography. And new to using Photoshop Elements. I have PSE 9 and have edited an image .psd file and saved it as a .jpg, .bmp, and .tga and none of them display the same image color that I see when I am editing the image in PSE 9. :confused:

Below you can see the photo in PSE 9, compared to the .jpg that I saved. Even the .psd looks like the .jpg with the colors less intense when viewed outside of PSE 9. This is weird. I have not noticed this in other photographs. Does anybody know why this could be happening?

Thanks,
Snacko

Sounds like a color space issue.
Do you know what color space you are editing the image in?

I haven't used PSE since version 3, but in Photoshop, I would go to the 'Image' menu and choose 'Mode'. That would allow me to choose which color space the image is in.

The most popular color space is sRGB. So that is what most program/browsers expect...but if your image is in another space, you may get weird color shifts. So first try to change the color space to sRGB, then save the image and see what you get.

Thanks for replying Big Mike.

That mode is in 'RGB Color' mode. I have never changed that, ever..

if its the same as regular CS, there should be a file -> save for web and devices option. That will export it in sRGB for you.

Many programs don't support different color spaces than sRGB and so if you are looking at something in a photo-processing program and export it in color space RGB, it will look muted and off-color when viewed in a browser.

If you don't understand what has been said in these posts above you need to do a search on 'color space photography' and read a bit.

Thanks, I'll look that up.