Question about lens used in Carl Warner's foodscapes

eyedea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys! Im new here so I apologize in advance if similar questions have already been posted. Lately Ive been quite interested in the work of photographer Carl Warner, mostly known for his foodscapes. There is one picture which really caught my attention and im wondering: which lens should be used in order to achieve this (besides post-production, etc.). im quite new to this kind of photographs..

Thanks in advance :)

here is the photo im talking about:

Celery-Forest-4_1671586i.jpg

im assuming it's either a high quality macro lens, probably wide angle

or

it's all put together in photoshop

thank you marmots! so you think it will be more like a fisheye-lens? do you happen to have any recommendations? i use a canon.

maybe a 15 mm f/2.8? i also think he shots in layers and then blend them together cause every single detail in this shot is sharp..

i dont think it was a fisheye lens because
a) it has not distortion of strait lines
and
b) most of them are too wide angle for that

im thinking more of a medium telephoto i guess like this

At a guess a 2 stage process:

1) Wide angle or telephoto to capture the initial landscape photo which will form the base of the final work

2) A macro lens to capture the detail shots of each of the items of food (or small sets of food)

Then he imposes the food shots over the landscape shot and blends them together to get the final effect of the "foodscape". Experience and study might also allow him to just us the macro lens to craft totally imaginary landscapes made of food, thus voiding the need for a base landscape scene to work from.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/pic...odscapes-amazing-food-art-by-Carl-Warner.html