Question about telephoto zooms versus equivelant to times zoom

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all, this is my first post here. I am looking to get into photography, primarily of wildlife for starters. I am trying to get an idea about just what the focal length converts to zoom wise. I have binoculars and spotting scopes so I understand 20-60 power (times zoom), but very unclear just how the MM converts. I mean say a 50mm-300mm telephoto zoom lens, is that equvelant to say 10-30 power? I plan on photoing wildlife so some pics will be upwards of 1000 yards, possibly more. Is this possible? Like I said I am just beginning and do not have a clue what I am in for or what I am doing yet. All help is appreciated. Thank you.

Let me ask a couple of questions. What type of wildlife would you like to photograph? What time of day would you be photographing? Do you currently own any camera equipment? What is your budget? Are you looking at digital or film gear? Do you hunt?

Whether you know it or not all these factors play a huge role in what equipment would work best for you. Magazine photographers who shoot wildlife most likely use the Nikon D3/Canon 1Ds with 400mm f/2.8, 500mm, 600mm lenses along with teleconverters. A single camera body and lens in this category can cost $12,000.

Don't be discouraged, there are a ton of options that might work great for you. If you like Nikon gear you have two great options available. You can pick a digital or film body and use manual focus lenses which are selling for about 25 cents on the dollar on ebay. Canon doesn't give you the same flexibility, as their digital bodies won't accept older manual focus lenses. If you decide to go with manual focus lenses stick with primes as zooms are just not comparible to the modern zoom lenses available today.