Questions about specific landscape features

IgneousIsBliss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
In a week I will be starting my hike of the John Muir Trail. Meaning I will be in the Sierra Nevadas of CA for 30+ days, with ample time to shoot absolutely breathtaking views. However, I am still a newbie and have a couple of questions.
If it helps, the gear I am bringing is my Canon XT, 18-55 lens, a ND filter and circ polarizer. And of course an extra CF card and 4 extra batteries (which will have to last me 18-20 days). I will also be able to borrow a tripod if I need one, since one of the people I am going with is taking one! I'm definitely not carrying mine.

Fog/morning mist: What is the best way to capture it? I hope to get up extra early the mornings we camp near a lake to catch the fog rolling off of it. For some reason, I have a feeling getting the fog/mist to show up on camera isn't as straightforward as one might think.

Snow: Since the Sierras got 200% snowfall this year, we will be seeing plenty of it while we are there. I have never shot snow before, and am worried about exposure issues. Will the filters be enough so that the sun reflecting on the snow isn't a problem? I've just seen too many pictures where the photographer lost all detail in the snow because it was so overexposed.

I was also hoping to try HDR for the first time, but I suppose I'll post my questions about that in the appropriate forum.

I will be able to shoot so many different scenes all in one trip: mountains, snow, meadows, fields of wildflowers, waterfalls and cascades, sunrises and sunsets, lakes, forests, wildlife, etc. So any advice, general or specific, you have on landscape and nature shots would be truly appreciated. I know that the "golden hours" are dusk and dawn but I will most likely be shooting all day because we have to keep hiking in order to get to our next camp.

Thanks in advance,
Katie