Questions About Use of VoigtLänder Vito BL Camera.

GiantSquid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Yesterday a friend showed me some old stuff he got from his recently deceased grandfather. Most of it was old Free Masons stuff but he also had this old (I'm guess 40's or 50's) VoigHander camera. A brand I've never heard of which is not surprising since I'm no expert on cameras.

In fiddling with it I noticed the counter right above the lens was counting down each time I wound and released the shutter. So out of curiosity I took 3 pictures til it read down to 1, then I did what I can only assumed wound the film. Then opened the hatch on the bottom and saw that their was a roll of film in there. I don't think the film was exposed since unlike a normal film camera the film itself wasn't visible from what I saw. Either way I closed the hatch again.

My friend said I could take it home if I got whatever was inside developed. The camera seems to be in really good shape so I'm wondering how old the film inside could be. Do you think the film could be developed at your regular run of the mill pharmacy or might it require something more specialized? What size film would it most likely be? 35mm?

This thing looks like it would have been hard to use. The view finder is just a window, it doesn't actually show any changes you make to the focus. Seems like a lot of educated guess work when taking a photo. Guess you have to be good to use this thing.

Forgive the horrendous quality of my horrendous phone.

The case just says the company name on top and Germany on the bottom.
Case.jpg

What you can't see is three colored dots. that have V, X, and M under them and a selector. I think one stops the shutter from being released, another is timed, and another is regular. The lens has three focus' rings (I'm making up terminology). The counter above the lens has a diamond and numbers 1 through 36.
Front.jpg