Questions on using the nikon D50

GreenV63

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi i recently bought the Nikon D50 and im using a 28-80mm lens that came with the camera. Im not really interested in buying a new lens yet, im just trying to get used to the camera first. I was wondering, ive been wanting to take pictures of my newborn baby, but the flash is wayy to bright for me to be taking pictures of him with it. so i try to take pictures of him without the flash, i noticed that some pictures came out fine but then most of them would just blur. how do i get it from stop bluring, while not using a flash? thanks, and sorry, im pretty new at all this, im trying to learn as much as i can on my own.

Don't worry, everyone on this forum has known that feeling once.

Basically, you need to know about the relationship between ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture, try here as a start. In brief though, think of the amount of light that you need to let into the camera for any given picture as being constant. The longer the shutter speed you use will allow more light into the camera, as will using a larger aperture, but they both have trade offs. A longer shutter speed means that any movement of the subject is recorded, so you get blurry pictures, whereas a larger aperture means that you get shorter depth of field, so parts of the picture that were furthest away from the focal point will become blurry.

If this all sounds confusing at the moment, don't worry, you'll get it, and the D50 if a fine camera to start with. For the moment, try turning the ISO up, this will allow you to stick with the same settings, but your pictures may get a bit more grainy.

More specific tips around photographing babies can be found here

alright i first read that page about taking pictures of babies and hes says this: