RAW does not match preview

benlonghair

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I've got an issue.

The image I see on my review screen and the histogram that I see do not match the RAW I see when I download.

I want to know if there's a way to make the JPG thumbnail or rider or whatever match the RAW more closely. Things that look perfectly exposed in the reveiw screen are sometimes as much as 1.6 stops under exposed while the preview looks great. Which sucks.

Am I missing something in my camera?

Do you mean that the histogram changes from when reviewed on the camera and when viewed on your computer?

Have you tried shootin RAW+JPG and comparing the images?

What RAW editor are you using?

Yes, the histograms don't match. Often the RAW will be significantly to the left of where it shows on the camera.

I have not tried RAW/JPG, but I will the next time I shoot.

I'm using UFRaw and GIMP.

I'm by no means an expert, but what I've noticed with my camera is the in camera editing done to convert the RAW to jpeg will adjust the exposures, contrast ect. which, correct me if I'm wrong, will then also alter the histogram.

Have you tried applying the same adjustments to the RAW that the camera applies to make the jpeg and see if the histograms match then? Again, might be wrong on this, but I don't think the LCD actually displays the true RAW file. :spank: me if I'm wrong! :lol:

What about the RAW processing program that shipped with the camera?

AFAIK it didn't ship with a raw converter. It shipped with the Nikon Transfer and ViewNX and a 10 day trial of CaptureNX. Capture is their RAW converter I'm pretty sure.

I'm by no means an expert, but what I've noticed with my camera is the in camera editing done to convert the RAW to jpeg will adjust the exposures, contrast ect. which, correct me if I'm wrong, will then also alter the histogram.