Rebel Xt & Sony Dsc-w1 owners....

Charles4400

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I just got a Rebel xt upgraded from my Sony Dsc-w1.
I am a complete amatuer and am only now getting into slr photography..

But it seems straight out of the box with standard settings on full auto mode on the Canon that my Sony is getting better, cleaner shots than the Canon! Is it the lens which came with the Canon Ef-S 18-55mm which is actually sub par to the Carl Zeis lens of the Sony?

Yes maybe later on down the line I will get more out of the Canon...but out of the box, has anyone else thought this between these 2 cameras (that the Sony actually is taking sharper more colorful pics?).

What is the main thing I'm doing wrong? Is it the lens
confused3.gif

I'm no expert or anything but try the manual modes and set the aperature and shutter speed yourself and choose a slower iso. I don't know the sony but the lens that the rebel has should be fine I would think? Unless something is wrong with your specific lens? I don't really know just tryin to throw out some suggestions

you should try taking two shots at once of the same object, using two cameras. then you will notice the difference. It is possible that different light source was used when you were taking a shot with canon, so the time of exposure was longer - the shot might be a bit more blurry, the grain might be bigger (highier ISO)... there are many parameters deciding about the quality of picture...

as mentos said, it would be better to have 2 photos taken with the 2 cameras of the same thing in order to have a good comparison.
Also to me I read that your problem is too general, some specifics would be nice (specially photos) I for one love my Rebel XT.