Recent "Senior" Session--NEED C&C

brobinson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I recently had a friend sit for a "senior" photography session. I am not a professional by any means, but I'm trying to work on posing, lighting, outdoor conditions, etc. Most of these were shot with my 100mm f/2.8. I would love some C&C regarding the composition and the post-processing.

1).
kate.jpg

2).
kate1.jpg

3).
kate2.jpg

4).
kate4.jpg

5).
kate5.jpg

6).
kate7.jpg

Thanks in advance!
Brendan

Well, I definitely like some of the photos... I like #3, although there is some ghosting on her left foot which is distracting, and I'm definitely not a huge fan of selective coloring, but, sometimes it works. #4 is a creative idea, making the face completely blurred but focusing on the shoes.

Another bright side is that all of the photos (with the possible exception of #3) are very sharp, and I think well composed (though the last one may have a little much headroom).

On the downside however, is that I would say that for senior portraits I don't think they work well. I definitely like them as shots, just not as senior photos. I think that although the cell phone is very important for her, it really detracts from her. In numbers 3-5 the fact that they don't have her face or that it's not in focus would make it so that it probably wouldn't be a shot she would ever hand out to people (which is what I assume is the purpose of senior photos... maybe I'm wrong). #6 almost works, I generally like the semi-desaturated look you gave it, but it's got a lot of head room, I don't like the two leaves coming in at the top left, and the lettering on her shirt is rather distracting (I love the eyes though).

Hope that helps.

C&C per req: