Recommendations between these 4 lenses for Nikon D5500?

NoFX

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been a lurker for awhile, finally decided to become active. I've been researching bodies for a couple months and decided on the Nikon D5500, which brings me to the lense question. The kit lense is the 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S VR lense, and I'm looking to pair one of the following lenses with it:

Nikon 55-200mm f/4.0-5.6 G ED AF-S VR DX
Nikon 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G VR DX
Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 G ED-IF AF-S VR
Tamron 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 Di LD Macro

They seem to all have their pros/cons so I'm looking for advice on which would best suit my style within my budget. First, my budget is around $1,200 for everything. I have seen kits in various places (Amazon, Best Buy, Walmart) that feature the body, the 18-55, and one of those other 4 lenses for right under my preferred budget. My focuses are landscape, sunset, beach/ocean scenes, architecture, "urban decay"-type stuff, and just general cool imagery that I may come across in daily life. Patterns and color are big focuses as well in terms of style. I tend to seek out interesting (to me anyway) patterns or color schemes in compositions. I'm also very interested in Macro photography, and longer exposure/ night photography both landscape and stuff like traffic blurs and cityscapes. I have no experience in either, but will definitely be dedicating time to learning because I'm a big fan of the styles. Also maybe the occasional surf/skate/snowboard photography. It won't be a huge focus, because I'd rather be DOING those than PHOTOING them haha, and that's what my GoPros are for, but I'm sure I will be doing some dedicated shoots for friends. None of this is professional, nor will it ever be. I wouldn't say I'm beginner, just a beginner to the newest dslr tech and macro/long exposure/night photography. So if classify myself as enthusiastic hobbyist I guess?