Results of flower shooting in basement -- Please CC

jedirunner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, my 10 year old daughter (Brynley) and I bought some things at walmart to make a cheap (very cheap -- and it shows I'm afraid) lighting environment at home to try taking some pics of flowers (also bought at walmart) on a rainy day.

Here's some pics of the setup in the girls' bedroom in the basement:
Brynley2.jpg

PhotoSetup6.jpg

Brynley's Best Shot
Brynley (shooting with a Canon PowerShot SX30-IS) ended up learning these things:
  1. How to control her tripod and move it around to get the shot she wants
  2. How to move the subject around to get a composition she likes
Here is her best photo for the day. I'm pretty proud of her results:
IMG_0310.JPG

My Best Shots

As I'm very new to photography, my goals were:
  1. Learn some more about manual mode and how the settings come together
  2. Try out a somewhat controlled lighting environment and see what it's like
  3. Maybe end up with 1 or 2 pics worth posting to get further suggestions.
I learned that I still have lots of work to do on focus, composition, lighting, etc.

Here are a couple of my best shots (CC Please!) shot with Canon 7D with 18-135 IS kit lens, using a ravelli tripod and shutter release. I'd have used my external flash (580EX II) but I haven't figured out wireless usage of it yet -- that's a future experimentation day:

IMG_2084.JPG

IMG_2127.JPG

There are a *LOT* of out-of-focus images, bad composition images, too-shallow DOF images (backdrop texture/coloring was too visible), etc. So, I post the best two I took, so that I can get CC and improve for the next session.

And yes, our lighting environment really was made of kitchen chairs, kitchen stools, the kids' lamps (bought at walmart today), white sheets tied to the chairs with elastics, a black backdrop hung over their TV. :)