SB600 Wireless Capabilities?

mcoppadge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm still learning the ins and outs of some of my equipment. I'm confused about how the wireless capabilities work for my Nikon SB600. Can I wirelessly link my D300 to my SB600 or can I only link the SB600 with other compatible flashes?

Yes.

For starters, look and begin reading on pages 294 and 357 of your D300 manual and pages 52 and 55 of your SB600 manual. While you're at it, why not read the manuals in their entirety?

If you still are confused, bump this thread.

Yes.

For starters, look and begin reading on pages 294 and 357 of your D300 manual and pages 52 and 55 of your SB600 manual. While you're at it, why not read the manuals in their entirety?

Really? As far as I understand you can only sync the SB600 wirelessly as a slave with a higher model (at least SB800) as a master.

The Nikon CLS will work with any camera body that has the Commander mode. It will work with the SB600/800/900. You can either use the built-in flash to trigger the off camera flashes or use the SB800/SU800 as the Commander for additional options.

As I read the OPs question, I understood it to be whether the SB600 can be used wirelessly with the D300. The answer is YES. The SB600 is a slave, but commanded by the built-in flash. The built-in flash can be set to pre-flash only, which will only trigger the SB600 and not contribute light to the scene.

That's why I made reference to the manuals.

Yes.

Really? As far as I understand you can only sync the SB600 wirelessly as a slave with a higher model (at least SB800) as a master.

I have already read both manuals through in their entirety. I came to the same understanding as MelodySoul. Thanks for clearing that up. I'll fiddle around with it tonight and see what I can make of it.

Camera:
Go to Custom Setting Menu > e3 sub-menu > Commander mode > set built-in flash to (--) for pre-flash.

Flash: