scoring your first wedding shoot!

bellaPictures

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.bellapictures.com.au
Hi everyone,
im new to this site and so glad i found it. Well ive been doing photography for about 5 yrs now, and have been doing a few wedding for family members, but the thing is that i never kept copies of them because i didnt want to spend money printing doubles just in case it didnt turn out nice.
To my suprise, they turned out excellent and i dont have any to show because i have given them as a gift.

I would like to know how everyone scored their first wedding (besides doing favours for family/friends) and actually got some money for it....thanks so much

looking forward to hearing from you all

You'll need examples. Maybe you can borrow the negs back, and make some prints?

I also started out doing weddings for friends and family. Pretty soon I was getting asked by co-workers and friends of friends. I put together a book of wedding photos, and set up a website, and the phone started ringing.

I had a similar experience so what I did was go back to the couple and scanned in the prints to put together a small website. I had shot as the reception photographer for several family & friends and a few years later opened my own studio. I started out by offering a discount with the clients understanding that I was new to weddings. From there referrals have been my biggest source of shoots. Good luck!

I'm just in the stage of doing the friends & family's weddings. When I was shooting film, I always had the images scanned to CD at the time of developing/printing. Then I made copies of the digital files for me to keep and gave the couple both the prints and the CDs. Now I'm digital so it's easy to keep a copy of the images.