Sd card for t2i? New stuff for a starter?

Jeff92

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I suppose I would need a class 10 if I want to record video but what kind of true read/write speeds would I need. Anyone have any suggestions? I like sandisk but am open to another brand if it will work good. The reason I ask is because I have never had a device that was really demanding on my card lol.

Also I am almost likely to order this camera from canon as a refurb this week or next. Anything else you guys would suggest a new starter get, for example a bag or lens covers or cleaners or anything or just buy as I need it?

Thanks

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

Congratulations on moving up from newbie status. I'm a newbie to this forum, too! I have a refurbished T2i and own two class 10 Sandisk Extreme (30MB/s) SDHC cards and they have served me well in all situations. The reason why I got Sandisk Extreme is because I have read in other places that 30MB/s is what's required for HD video recording. A buddy of mine owns D7000 and I got him Sandisk Ultra (15MB/s) for his birthday. He never had any issues with 1080p video recording. My recommendation is to be safe then sorry and get 30MB/s card that's recommended for video. Other brands I might trust are Lexar or Samsung.

Cool I figures id need at least an extreme. How long ago did you get the canon refurb? Im thinking of buying it this week but I just feel like a deal on a new one with the 55-250 lens will pop up right after I buy it lol

I purchased my refurbished T2i on 6/30 of last year. It was after Tsunami and even refurbished prices were elevated. It was originally priced at $560 body only, but after my trade in of old 35mm SLR trade in, it was $480 after tax. I think prices began to settle back down not too long after. Talk about Murphy's Law! Price drop will be inevitable especially when Canon announces replacement for T2i/T3i with newer sensor. The question is when...