Sharp myths

willli

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
In my time as a photographer I always hear my photography professors or teachers said watch your focus. The first lesson that I learn in the live environment as a photographer was photography rules are there to be modify and even broke in certain situations because that is what is bring your own style on the set.

Now my question: Is a soft photo not acceptable? Why?

With my wedding customers it become that the photos that are soft are they favorites because ad this sense of romance and love in the picture.

We use out of focus to redirect the eye in to the subject of the photo and also I've been seen soft photos as an expression of a more creative style.

I would like hear different opinions about this subject.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
I would like hear different opinions about this subject.
with lovely Bronica, one of the tools of the trade was len's wipes (not just clothes for dust) and tube of Vaseline to apply it around 150mm lens for softening.
I agree with you on soft images as they imply romance, and happy lovely time but few but there's a difference b/n soft and out of focus. This, you know but not many, especially newcomers understand. I'm pretty sure that in your soft formal portraits, eyes are fairly sharp and emphasized :)

Typically if the eyes are in focus that is step one.
From there focus/depth of field can be used as a tool.
Yes a lot of people like the soft romantic effect of portraits and some wedding shots.
Soft photos can very acceptable in some circumstances.