Sharpening - too much, examples requested

lvcrtrs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Could someone post some examples of what photos look like when they are sharpened a bit too much and when they are obviously over sharpened. Thanks so much.

Ouch, Garbz, that certainly is an example for OVER-OVER-sharpened. Boy, that one hurts!

This is my first attempt at uploading pics. I chose 2. My dog (who just passed on Jan 4 :heart:) and a flower. When I put Foster in my digital picture frame his individual hairs seem almost needle like. I like things sharp but it looks kind of unreal. The flower looks really sharp but is it too sharp. Working with my new D90 with the kit lens. I copied the info by clicking on "details" when looking at the photo. Sharpening just says normal or hard, not + with the number I bumped it up. I've read you should look to see if straight lines look jagged and I'm not real sure what a halo from sharpening means. I changed to size of the pics to 800 on their long side. I've been spending time working on holding still to take a picture cause they were fuzzy. I put away the 70-300 and practice with the kit lens just set to 50mm now. I figure when I get good with that I'll pull out that long lens again.

1. Foster F5.3, 1/60, 66mm, meter-center weighted, mode-Programed auto, (I only changed the sharpening)
Fostercopyresized.jpg

2. Flower F13, 1/60, 45mm, meter-pattern, mode-Aperature priority (with me upping the sharp setting, wish I knew how much)
Flowercopyresized.jpg

Last edited:
Halo means that there is an inversion in brightness visible. This is how sharpening works, by increasing the edge contrast either side of a detail. When pushed too hard it halos which is if you follow my link, the result on the mountains. In this case the black line underneath the mountain line where the mountains meet the sky is a halo.