julie32

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.juliestarkphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
good morning-----

I'm not experienced using an on camera flash. I do have a 580EX for my 20D. Is there a safe rule of thumb or any pearl of wisdom you can offer me regarding where my flash should point? Picture a dinner party in a nice restaurant without terrible florescent lighting...but low lighting none the less. It will be only me, so anything that would involve more than one person won't work.

I don't know whether to point the flash to the ceiling or at the subject. No windows available. I do have a diffuser to put on the flash itself.

Thank you very much
julie

good morning-----

I'm not experienced using an on camera flash. I do have a 580EX for my 20D. Is there a safe rule of thumb or any pearl of wisdom you can offer me regarding where my flash should point? Picture a dinner party in a nice restaurant without terrible florescent lighting...but low lighting none the less. It will be only me, so anything that would involve more than one person won't work.

I don't know whether to point the flash to the ceiling or at the subject. No windows available. I do have a diffuser to put on the flash itself.

Thank you very much
julie

My personal preference is a Stroboframe bracket for the flash head AND use the diffuser. Be careful about distance with the diffuser. You've probably seen this bracket at weddings. It holds the flash about fifteen inches above the lens. Eliminates the red-eye problem and provides better modeling. It ain't cheap. Figure on US$80 for the bracket plus another US$90 for the cable to use with it.

This is a candid of my grand-daughter. The shot is exactly what came out of the camera - absolutely zero post-pricessing, not even cropping. I did use the Stroboframe bracket but I completely forgot about the diffuser. I couldn't use bounce flash because my Yuppie son has a house with ten-foot ceilings!