Advice on my first paying gig, a client garden party

ChrisMoJo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all, I'm new and this is my first post so please go easy. :) I'm interested in making at least a side job out of photography and filmmaking and I'm hoping for some advice on my first paying gig coming up next month. Some of this might be best posted in the beginners forum as I'm still learning the ropes, so please forgive me if some of this is off-topic.

My wife's boss, a financial advisor, is having a garden party at her home for her top clients, roughly 20-30 people. She asked me to take portraits of the guests (mostly couples) as well as candid shots of the event that she can share with guests and post on her website. I'm just looking for some advice on how to approach an event like this, mainly on thinking like a professional, making a good impression, getting the guests comfortable with the camera, etc., and as a bonus if you have any suggestions for some good types of shots to look out for (or time-wasting or uninspiring/cliché shots to avoid), making the best of my meager equipment (see list below), and anything else it would be appreciated.

I cased the joint last week and we have picked out a nice spot for portraits in front of a flowering bush that will be in full late-afternoon/evening sunlight. But I'm wondering if it will be boring to shoot every portrait in the same location, especially if most or all of them end up being displayed in the same place e.g. her website. Any experience you guys can share on mixing things up to make a collection of similar portraits more interesting would be great.