Shooting Cats?

Britanica

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I adore cats and would love to shoot them better.
I am a complete noob. I love fierce, fun, sometimes funny, and cute shots of cats.
Any tips for this?

12 gauge. I'd love to shoot them better too.

Joe

Yes, don't put blue sunglasses on them.

And... cat people, where's the outrage?? :waiting::taped sh::popcorn:

And... cat people, where's the outrage??

I've got enough of that over here. I live in a neighborhood that's overrun with feral cats. It's becoming a costly problem.

I do have a cat photo that I took in my neighbor's yard:

crime_scene_zps711d405f.jpg

$twety.jpg

$Penelope 01.jpg$Pippin 33.jpgI'm a cat lover, too, Britainaca, and over they years have taken literally thousands of shots of those who were part of our lives. Get them used to the camera (and the flash) so they are not spooked by them. Make sure you have adequate light so their eyes are not dilated (otherwise you get the 'evil death ray eyes'!). One thing works well for me is to set up a table covered by velour & something similar, entice the cats onto the table with their favorite treats, and then to have my wife wave a large feather or Mylar toy. They come to attention, and there are great shots possible. Another, using the same table setup, is to let and pamper them until they relax...maybe with a couple more treats...and then move in for some closeups.

Attachments

• $Insults.jpg
    $Insults.jpg
    26.6 KB · Views: 140
If we're posting pictures of our pussies - here's mine.

Greta

wantes to add: my cat is very easy going and isn't easily startled. I think it's worth leaving your camera around your cat and letting them get used to it. Then as you pick it up, they won't be afraid or curious of it

Last edited:
I adore cats and would love to shoot them better.
I am a complete noob. I love fierce, fun, sometimes funny, and cute shots of cats.
Any tips for this?