Shoots at concerts

Feenix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,

Looking for some advice on an upcoming shoot I have. It'll be at a gig, and it's a type of shoot i've never done before so i'm trying to get some info.

Thing that concerns me the most is the out of the ordinary lighting conditions, in particular advice on ISO Speeds would be great.

Just any advice at all you can give me is great. I'm using an EOS 400D, with the integral flash. Preferably, i'd like not to have to use it much as i've read a lot of Photographers commenting on how they prefer not to use flash when shooting gigs. Also, i've only got a UV filter and a dark blue filter and neither will work out well but i'm paranoid about my lens getting damaged in that kind of environment so any advice on a fliter?

Thanks for the help guys, apprechiate it :thumbup:

why won't the uv filter work out well? It's perfectly clear....

Crank up your ISO all the way and go for it.

Well i've heared a number of times UV filters in low light conditions is a no no. Causes "green ghosts", though admittedly I don't know too much about it.

Is the concert you'll be shooting at a rowdy-type concert? And is there a photo pit that you'll be allowed to shoot from? If so, I wouldn't worry about my lens getting messed up without a filter. I've shot many concerts from the photo pit...many of them were rowdy ones with bodies flying everywhere and I've never broken, scratched up or ruined a lens. I have, however, been kicked in the head and banged around on many occasions, but that's a different story.

I prefer not to use flash also. I can usually get away with ISO 1600 or ISO 800 with a faster lens. I've had to go up to 3200 a few times because lighting was so bad. My camera--Canon 20D--does well at 1600. It starts to get pretty visibly noisy at 3200, though.

I would say use the lowest ISO you can get away with, with the fastest shutter speed.