Should I use aliases if I am an artist in different mediums?

gatorcruz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Thank you in advance for your responses and help. Okay, I guess you can call me a renaissance man (ha ha, not really ... I just love exploring art in many mediums). I am primarily a sculptor and also a painter; And recently a photographer. I have sold my work in all three mediums but my name is best known by my first & last name (for those political readers, let's say "Joe the Artist").

Here is my question/issue: I have heard differing comments from fellow artists and associates regarding my multiple directions. Some say that I should use the SAME name for all my artwork (but I should NEVER promote or display multiple themes at the same time ... Separate each theme/medium in individual shows, gallery spaces (wall space) or weekend art fairs.)

Yet, others say I should just create a different name for each medium because many buyers will feel as though the artist is too stretched and not focused or not specialized in one particular medium. For instance, I could use my First/Last name for Sculpture, Middle/Last for Paintings, and First-Middle initials/Last name for my photography.

If I chose the same name for all, then, for my online promotion, I would have one URL for my artist name which would have a homepage which would lead viewers to three different virtual galleries (painting/Photo/Sculpture). I am not sure how i would handle my business cards or postcards :).

If I chose multiple names, then I would have three individual websites and three of all other promotional materials.

What are your opinions? Any validity to keeping the same name or multiple names?

Thank you.

I certainly can't speak from experience, but if it were me, I would keep the same name and use a single website.