Shutter-Speed-Tester for the iPhone

Echolot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello !

My name is Lukas, I'm an analog photographer and I wrote a small application for the iPhone, which allows you to test the shutter speeds of your cameras, to see if they are still correct:
View attachment 50063
There are two possibilities of using the App:
1. The app alone uses a acoustic measurement method to determine the shutter speed. You can record the shutter release sound, and the App displays the waveform of this sound:
View attachment 50064
You will see two peaks in the signal, indicating the opening and closing of the shutter. From the distance between those peaks, the App calculates the shutter speed.

2. You can use the optical Fototransistor-Plug which I invented specially for this App. It contains a phototransistor and allows you to measure the actual light passing through the camera instead of sound:
View attachment 50065
$aufbau.jpg

This makes the measurements much more accurate, and works very well even at higher speeds like 1/500s !
View attachment 50066

The App is available on the iTunes AppStore: Link

If you want to try out the photoplug, you can buy it here: Shutter Speed Tester for Your iPhone Verschlusszeitentester FÜR Das iPhone | eBay

It would be great if some people here would try this out, as it was quite hard work to get this project to this point :)

Thank you,
Lukas

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.