Slowly moving to portraits (lights) please help me step up.

tigidig4x

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys good day.. So i really love to shoot natural light, but it seems i have to step up my photography right now and i started shooting portraits, which would really be good use of my equips and to go way higher to become a paid freelance photographer... But please guide me on how to achieve my goals? I want to ask about equipments first..

Currently, my equipments are:

Canon Rebel T41 650D
1 Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM
1 Canon 50mm f/1.2L USM
1 18-55mm kit lens
1 Canon Speedlite 320EX II

I want to ask what are the most basic equipments that i could buy to start my portrait photography with lights? I prefer to shoot outside and i really don't know much thos very complicated lighting but i still want to buy those "VERY BASIC AND NEEDED" equipments for my portrait for me also to get hands on and learn from my gears... Please can you recommend one? Some say i need those lighting umbrellas but im not so sure so thats why i asked here...

Also, can you guys share some portrait photo manipulation or common editing techniques? I tried to google it but cant find one i always find how to smoothen skin but it seems no one shares workflow of their jaw dropping photoshop manipulation techniques... (I am a lightroom user and is also slowly learning photoshop + plugins)..

May i also ask how to achieve those portrait manipulation techniques that are like watery skin or something that is so smooth? Like it has a watery effect.. I really dont know what keywords to enter in google to search for it.. Or perhaps you could provide me some keywords to enter in google to find some photo editing techniques specially for portraits..