'Small' DSLR or mirrorless for low light and glare?

Jim888

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone and thankyou for the opportunity to join.

I am a newbie so please be patient with me!

I enjoy taking photos of historic cars and aircraft that are mostly housed in museums. Often these places are not particularly well lit, but have spotlights making a challenging environment for a hack with a point and shoot. As well as the low light/spot-lit challenge, the cars/planes often have reflected glare 'spots' on the shiny bits. I am looking to buy a 'small' DSLR or mirrorless as I am traveling, and was wondering if one is better than the other for indoor museum subjects. I have read up a bit on the differences between DSLR and mirrorless but was hoping for some guidance regarding this particular environment.

Any help gratefully received!

Last edited:
Okay, what you're facing is a common problem. So let me provide some answers (from my perspective anyway).

1. You mention SLR--that's a camera that shoots film. I assume that was a typo and you meant DSLR.

2. Mirrorless is where the industry is going. If you think you're going to invest in a lot more lens and equipment, shoot more than cars, then go mirrorless. However, mirrorless will be much more expensive for you than a DSLR. Find a mirrorless that is roughly about the same quality of a DSLR and you can expect to pay substantially more for the mirrorless.