Some HDR's of a Big Old Tree C&C please

LifterCatcher

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I have been playing around with HDR a bit. I am a huge fan of bold bright colors. I took several pictures of Missouri's oldest tree the giant Burr Oak & wanted to get everyone's thoughts.

I positioned the sunset right behind the tree to try and capture the detail and color the best I could.

I know HDR is not for everyone & I am pretty new at it.

Images clickable to enlarge

Focal length
70 mmExposure1/100 at f/4
ISO speedISO 200

Focal length116 mm
Exposure1/50 at f/5
ISO speedISO 200

wow.. a blue hayfield.. or whatever that is? nice! And your watermark isn't too annoying... are you afraid someone will steal your photos?

Thanks! Much better.... I love the colors.. but I am a fan of realism. Sunset is gorgeous.. but the earth is blue? You have bad Haloing everywhere too.. all this indicates that the photo is over processed.. a very common problem with HDR. I like the composition on #1 and #2.. but the odd colors and halos kill it for me.

Thanks! Much better.... I love the colors.. but I am a fan of realism. Sunset is gorgeous.. but the earth is blue? You have bad Haloing everywhere too.. all this indicates that the photo is over processed.. a very common problem with HDR. I like the composition on #1 and #2.. but the odd colors and halos kill it for me.

Thank you this is the information that I am looking for, I am also a fan of realism and just trying out HDR, but agree the haloing also bug me.

I actually thought the blue was water until I took a closer look. That really threw me off. Probably find a way to either make it green (grass like) or golden (hayfield like)