Sony a-380 Blur!

stoi689

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everybody.

I'm a complete DSLR novice! As a boxing writer I got fed up with my Casio digital camera missing all the best shots and giving me a grainy image, so after weeks of careful consideration I went for the Sony a-380 mainly when the shop owner assured me it would be perfect for my boxing work, even under less bright ringside lighting and using no flash.

I bought it yesterday for a media workout that takes place tomorrow and tested it out on my son running about last night and my wife clapping, basically motion pictures and to my horror they are all badly blurred :grumpy:

I put it into sports mode as instructed in the guide book but still no joy.

After fishing this excellent forum I see things about shutter speed, ISO, Aperture, shaking etc all of which would maybe effect my blurring. Is the problem mine or is this camera just not very good? More importantly will I be able to get some quality snaps at that workout! (Which will be in the daytime).

Any tips or advice is MASSIVELY appreciated. I can see myself spending a lot of time in here :sexywink:

i suggest a fast zoom lens :D

an f2.8 something .. not familiar with sony lenses srry

btw welcome to the forum :D

Off the top of my head the 380 has built-in image stabilisation which will help you a bit.

To avoid blur you need a fast shutter speed - this means that the sensor isn't exposed to light for very long so to give the amount of light it needs to produce an image of acceptable brightness you need to use a large aperture (low f number - probably you can only go down to f3.5 or so but the lower the better). Also you may want to use a high ISO speed (greater sensitivity to light), the tradeoff to high iso being image noise/grain - but this is still better than motion blur.