Sony Alpha SLT 37 vs RX-100

DrO

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Dear Members

I am a novice in photography: I had been using compact cameras but I have been frustrated with the quality of photos specially in low light conditions, blurring and the fact that my previous cameras were too slow to take pictures (I have missed potentially nice pictures; my friends get annoyed when waiting and posing for photos for instance).
I will mainly see photos on my MacBook Air/iMac instead of printing them (I may print occasionally in the future). This month, I will start a digital photography course for beginners and I want to buy a Sony Camera, but after reading reviews, I am quite confused as to which one to choose, I narrowed my options to 2 Sony cameras: the Sony Alpha 37 SLT vs Sony RX-100.

The reviews can be confusing as the first one does not favour much the Sony Alpha 37 by saying "Big is not always better":
Amazon.co.uk: Alan's review of Sony SLTA37 16.1MP Translucent Mirror Tech...

While this one gives 5 start to the RX-100 by stating "DSLR Quality In Your Pocket"
Amazon.co.uk: Customer Reviews: Sony Cybershot DSC-RX100 Digital Camera (20.2MP, 3.6x Optical Zoom) 3 inch LCD

To be fair, the reviewer emphasised though that he reviewed the Sony 37 with the 18 mm lenses included in the bundle and that quality may improve with better lenses. There are other reviews which give 5 stars to the Sony Alpha 37 but for me it is difficult to know the difference in quality of pictures between these 2 cameras.