Star Storm

something seems weird about the trees. the star trails look good, but the trees... i dont know they look artifacty...

something seems weird about the trees. the star trails look good, but the trees... i dont know they look artifacty...

You are correct. The original image was a bit noisy, so I processed it with Neat Image. I'm still learning how to use this software, and the "artifacty" trees are the price I had to pay for my newbieness.

I shot this one at f/4 and exposed it for 10 minutes at ISO 200. Is there anything I should have done differently to achieve better results?

not really anything else i can think of. Some people do short (around 2 minute) exposures. that way you dont get noise build-up from sensor heat. you just merge all the images in photoshop or you can use a dedicated stacking program like registax , but its more complicated to use than PS.

Looks oversharpened and perhaps a bit compressed.

The pic is really interesting otherwise.

It looks as if you had a light source shining from your bottom left...it could have been faint and there the whole time, or perhaps bright and brief, lasting only a second or so. Either way, It's illuminated the trees strangely and given a diffuse orange/red glow to other trees close by. I think the pic would be far better with no light source, just the silhouette and smeared stars.

As to the noise - could you post the pic before you ninja'd it? Would love to see the trees in the original.

GOod job though :)

The light source is actually a lame attempt by me to lightpaint the trees with a pocket flashlight. I'm not entirely sure why the light doesn't show equally distributed, though. I agree with you, it would have probably looked better without the light painting.

Here's the image before the noise reduction:

Last edited:
Neat! Do you just do a long exposure for that to happen?