Starting out in real estate photography

AdrParkinson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone, first time poster here.
I've been an amateur photographer for a few years and am transitioning to professional soon. I'm going to be shooting some product photos for a local business but once that's done the area I'd like to focus on is real estate. The problem is I don't know how to go about finding work as it's not something I've ever seen people advertise for.
I know the most obvious thing I need is a good portfolio, however my portfolio is mostly of landscapes, wildlife, and still life so I doubt that would help right now. Would going to estate agents and offering to shoot a few houses for free be a good place to start?

Any advice is appreciated.

Not IMO, no. That's going to get you known as the 'wanna be who shoots for free' and once you've done free work, getting paid work from those people is going to be difficult. Instead, look for developers/contractors who are putting up new houses/sub-divisions. Explain to them that you're working on a personal project and need some interior shots (esp. if they have a 'show home' set up) for that project. This (1) gets you away from the real estate agents who you only want to approach once you're set up and ready for business; and (2) it justifies why you're not charging. This is a personal project, and you're asking them for help. In return of course they will get XX images of their property to use as they wish (or whatever terms you agree upon).

Most real estate agents make their own photos.
Which is why you don't see photographers advertising that they do real estate photography.

There is no location info in your profile. What market area are you in?

It is very rare for any new business to start and survive for any appreciable period of time without a well researched and written business and marketing plan.