Store negatives digitally and safely convert to prints later?

astraline

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm an 80 year-old photographer so please forgive my ignorant technical question :)
I have many precious negatives, some almost as old as I.
Is there a very good quality device that will store the negatives so in the future they could be converted to prints?
Thank you so much for any help you can offer me.

Just to confirm: You want to convert your negatives to digital files, and then store them so that you can print them when you choose?

There are lots of options, and like a lot of things, it depends on the amount of time and money you want to put toward the project. If you have the time, then your best option would be to purchase a good quality scanner to convert the negatives to digital files. Once you have them converted, then you need to decide on storage. Because there's not a lot known yet about the longevity of digital files, my recommendation would be a three-pronged approach:

1. Store one copy of the files locally (your computer);

2. burn a set to CD/DVD-ROM and store them in a safe-deposit box or similar; and

3. upload a third copy of the files to "cloud storage". Depending on the number of files and the resolution, you may be able to find a free solution, or you may have to pay a monthly subscription fee to maintain the storage.

I would also make sure you keep the original negatives in archival-quality negative holders in a safe-deposit box as well.

If your digital files don't reside at three, separate distinct postal addresses, they really don't exist.

Welcome to the forum.
I have many family negatives that have survived from the 80's all the way back to the early 1900's. Many of those were put in archival type storage years ago, but a fire or other disaster could wipe them out.

As 480Sparky noted, if you digitize those negatives then you need to store those files in multiple devices that are located in distinct locations.