Strobe lighting power question

Nimitz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm getting ready to purchase my first studio strobe lighting setup. Although I've been shooting for many years I don't have any experience with studio strobes so I've been doing a lot of reading and the one area I'm still have trouble with is understanding what power of strobes I should be looking at.

I will be setting up a home studio focusing mostly on glamour & portrait work so I'm looking at kits that have 4 strobe setups (key, fill, background & hair/rim) but I don't really understand the difference between a 500 w/s strobe, 300 w/s or 150 w/s, etc

Are there some rules of thumb for determining how powerful strobes to get?

Thanks for any advice or somewhere to go read up on this ...

I think more power = more versatile in a varied range of situations. You can always turn the power down, but you can not turn it up.

It depends on the aperture you will be shooting at, the light to subject distance, etc and you need to tailor it to your situation. If you're trying to light up from across a larger room, 150w/s will not be enough.

Don't just look at power ratings either. There are a lot of factors to consider when buying strobes. You'll also need to consider: durability, strobe life (number of flashes), adjustability (5-stop adjustability is a lot better than 2- or 3-stop), manufacturer reputation, customer service, etc. I'd recommend against buying the typical eBay generic strobe kits. They're generally of very low quality, and customer service can be a shot in the dark. Look at name brand manufacturers, as there are plenty of them that offer high quality lighting for not a lot of money. Alien Bees and Novatron seem to be the top two players in the entry-level strobe lighting category.