Sunny 16 complications

Reaction score
Website
sku13.deviantart.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Last weekend I went to a horse show where I was shooting show jumping. It was all shot outside, where it was extremely sunny and hot. I shot at a shutter speed of 2000 with my aperture fully open at 4.5. My film was 400iso.

Yet a lot of my shots ended up radically underexposed. How is this possible?

As I understand the sunny 16 rule, with an iso of 400, you would set your aperture to 16 and your shutter speed to 400 (my camera only has 500). When you double the shutter speed, you would have to have the aperture (down to 8). Double the shutter speed up to 2000, and you would have to increase the aperture to 4.

So, if my understanding is correct (and it may not be) why were my shots so drastically underexposed? They turned out very grainy and dark. I was also using a UV filter and Circular polarizer.

Now i by no means know what i am talking about as i am a beginner, but i understood the sunny 16 rule to say that if it is sunny go with an aperture of 16 (small opening for light since it's sunny) and a low iso like 200. Like i said i'm not for sure, although it does make a little since to open up the aperture some since your shutter speed is so fast.

F stops are not on a linear scale...each full stop is factor of (the square root of 2).
One stop open from F16 is F11, then F8 then F5.6, then F4.

Also, when using the sunny 16 rule, you need to consider that a polarizer will block some light...I'm not sure how much, but it may be up to a stop and a half.

Doesn't your camera have a built in meter?

Now i by no means know what i am talking about as i am a beginner, but i understood the sunny 16 rule to say that if it is sunny go with an aperture of 16 (small opening for light since it's sunny) and a low iso like 200. Like i said i'm not for sure, although it does make a little since to open up the aperture some since your shutter speed is so fast.