Sunset photograph problem - second try

JacquesinCarmel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Now that 2 helpful folks have shown me how to paste a photograph on this form (many thanks!), let me try my question again.

I live on the Central Coast of California where, one day last fall, we had a spectacular fire engine red sunset. For the life of me, I couldn't capture the scene. Here's the image I got:

3421303997_ffe06a1e77.jpg

Despite several atempts at adjusting the exposure, I always got the same unsuccessful result. In program mode I can bracket the exposure and a histogram shows up, but I'm not sure what to do with it or if that is even the right way to approach this problem. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

My camera is a Lumix DMC-FZ7 which I bought because I am a very casual photographer. I wanted a fairly easy to use digital camera and liked the 12X zoom feature which I have used for nature shots such as this red shouldered hawk sitting on a branch about 75 feet from my deck.

3421304009_0740be9026_m.jpg

It also takes pretty good landscape pictures such as this

3421304003_dd8c5a0074_m.jpg

The problem with the sunset picture appears to be the photoghrapher...