tamron70-200mm f2.8 vs canon 200mm f2.8 prime

drewd40

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i need a fast telephoto as i shoot mainly wildlife. im looking to spend less than $1000 this leaves me with three options the sigma 70-200mm f2.8, the tamron 70-200mm f2.8, and the canon 200mm f2.8 prime. ive looked at the sigma and decided i did not like the optics. i hear the tamron af motor is a bit noisy and tends to hunt in low light but it is optically good. i currently have no zooms but 3 prime lenses so should i deal with the tamron motor or suck it up and get another prime (canon 200mm f2.8)to have the usm?

Just out of curiosity, what don't you like about the optics of the sigma? I've been shooting sports with one for almost 2 years and I absolutely love it.

From what I read, the corner performance of the Sigma version is not as good as the others. However, corner sharpness may not be important for a lot of shooters especially when used in portrait shots where background maybe out of focus already.

it was a little unsharp and i find my self shooting many high contrast subjects such as egrets and shore birds where there was a bit too much color fringing from it for me but i really dont want to make this into a discussion about that lens:(

it was a little unsharp and i find my self shooting many high contrast subjects such as egrets and shore birds where there was a bit too much color fringing from it for me but i really dont want to make this into a discussion about that lens:(

that's fine, I was just curious.

All I'm saying is that I've shot over 200,000 photos with it, it's held up insanely well. And I shoot alot of backlit subjects too (motocross riders flying through the air) and the color fringing has never been an issue. Maybe I just got a good copy.