Telephoto Lens Rental - Rebel T3

ChasJr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Good evening - I am looking for advice/suggestions regarding lens rental. I'm taking an extended trip to Alaska in June and am interested in renting a super telephoto lens (my initial research suggests out to 500MM) for wildlife shots. I own the stock lens and also an EFS 55-250MM lens.
I'll take landscape shots but really interested in wildlife (bears, whales,etc).
Apologies in advance, I'm new at this (just rec'd the camera for Christmas) so not quite sure what all information I need to provide.
Thanks!
ChasJr

There are plenty options but not sure if you want a prime or zoom. If its a zoom the Canon 100-400 IS L which gives a field of view from 160-640mm on your camera. There is a 500mm F4 L IS usm prime that gives a field of view 800mm. There are also a few 400 L prime lenses with options F2.8 IS, f4 IS or f5.6 without image stabilization. Bear in mind weight and size. My choice from a practical point would be the 100-400. If your happy to carry a little more the 400 f4 IS and a 1.4 teleconverter would be a nice combo

I took a 100-400 with me fishing in Alaska last year and it served me well shooting eagles and whales from a small 14 foot boat bouncing on the water. For the focal range it covers it's a good alternative to carrying a fixed focal length tele like the 400mm or 500mm monsters.

Thank you for the input - I appreciate all the information. I did a little more research based off your answers and think a zoom would probably be best for my application. Sorry for a remedial question but I don't understand your statement about the 100-400 giving a 160-640 field of view. Is that if I use a teleconverter with it?
I wouldn't mind carrying a bit more equipment but I'm limited in my range of options if I go with a prime, correct? So a zoom appears to be my best option?
Thanks again for helping a novice!!