Terribly washed out shots on Manual mode -- please advise

batmura

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a beginner and shoot a D3100.

Yesterday I took my tripod for the first time and went to the seaside to take some manual shots. I metered off the sky and took a picture. It came out washed out although I had ajusted for the correct exposure. Then I took the same shot on Auto mode and it came out great. Any idea what I might have done wrong?

I did this around 6 p.m. by the seaside. Here is the auto shot:

DSC_0779.jpg

And here is the one I took:

DSC_0778.jpg

I did not change any metering settings unless I did unknowingly. What I did was point my camera to the sky (on a tripod), do the meter reading, leave me ISO at 100, and fiddle with the shutter speed until the meter read 0. Then I took the shot and it came out very washed out. Immediately after, I took the same shot on auto and it was much better.

Please advise.

Read EXIF data from images (since they are not available in these ones), so that we have complete info on both shots.

Auto (Picture #1): f/7.1 | 1/40 seconds | ISO 400 | 20 mm.

Manual (Picture #2): f/13 | 2.5 seconds | ISO 100 | 20 mm .

huge difference in time, also you must be in auto ISO as that changed as well.

Hmm weird.

Nope no idea what you did wrong but you definitely didnt metered correctly.

Auto (Picture #1): f/7.1 | 1/40 seconds | ISO 400 | 20 mm.

Manual (Picture #2): f/13 | 2.5 seconds | ISO 100 | 20 mm .
Thats no way the same metering.

Auto f/7.1 to Manual f/13 - thats 1 step more light for Auto
Auto 1/40s to Manual 2.5 sec - thats approx 7 step more light for Manual
Auto ISO 400 to Manual ISO 100 - thats 2 steps more light for Auto

So your manual exposure was about 4 steps higher. Did you by chance have exposure compensation at ca +4 EV ?

He's talking about the green Auto Mode on the mode dial. Thats Auto ISO on any camera I know.