Thoughts on using an ABR800 ringflash for extreme macro

kalgra

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I wanted to see if I could get some thoughts on using this strobe setup for extreme macro with the Canon MP-E 65mm macro.

Paul C. Buff - AlienBees ABR800 Ringflash

I would be using it for other portraiture photography as well but was thinking with the diffuser it could work well. Im not just sure if it would be too much even at 1/32 power. I might have to rig up a different diffuser.

Any thoughts would be extremely appreciated. Im still learning and dont know much about working with strobes like this. Obviously I would only be using for studio staged macro and obviously not hand held.

Thanks!

The biggest problem would be size; its big and might be tricky to get fully into position with the MPE. My experience is that often the lower part of the lens is useful to keep clear so that you can lower the lens close enough to the subject.

However you say you're working in a studio and the size of it would provide, I would think, more than ample diffusion of the light. You might well be able to use such a light in a studio situation and I'd be intrigued to hear how it goes for you. The power should be enough, the MPE is a demanding lens for light and macro often demands small apertures so you should be fine with the lens not having tiny outputs.

At a guess you might find that you need a small pillar stand or the edge of a table for such shots; so you could lose some of the lower light; but otherwise it will be interesting to see. Of course you'll get the "flat" lighting that a ring flash gives; but varying diffusion cover over part of the lens might help