Time lapsing

newyorker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Can you create a really cool time lapse by taking a picture of something, i.e. a residential home, once every day? And can someone fully explain to me the fundamentals of time lapse photography? I've been a photographer for a while but I've been inspired by time lapsing and I'd like to branch out. Thanks :D

Can you create a really cool time lapse by taking a picture of something, i.e. a residential home, once every day? And can someone fully explain to me the fundamentals of time lapse photography? I've been a photographer for a while but I've been inspired by time lapsing and I'd like to branch out. Thanks :D

I don't think a pic-a-day of a residential home will get you any good results. Unless the home is under construction.

I think the whole point of a time lapse is to show either movement or change with the subject. Generally a house isn't going to change from day to day.

I don't have any experience taking time lapse photos myself but would like to try at some point.

Really? You'd be surprised how much a home changes in a day. Think about it, do it for a year and a home (or any landscape) will go through a season in 3 seconds. Watch the garden and plants change.

The theory is simple. You are slowing down the capture framerate to speed up the film. Just like slow motion is done by capturing 60 frames per second and displaying them at 30fames per second (half speed), Time lapse is the opposite. Just remember your target frame rate is something around 25 or 30fps.

The maths is simple. Take the shooting interval and multiply it by 30 to get the time for one second. Say I took a photo every 10 seconds. Then every 5 minutes (300 seconds) worth of shooting I will have 1 second of footage at 30 frames per second.