Total newbie w/lighting question

Miztiki

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I hope y'all can help me. I don't know anything about photography and my question is actually related to video recording, but I'm sure you'll be able to help.

I am supposed to record my dog and send it to the behaviorist for evaluation. My husband bought a camcorder but my dog is black and all you see on the screen is a black blob in the shape of a dog.

We don't have alot of money to spend, so I figure my best bet is to light up the room with additional lighting. Before I go buy something, I wondered if you could give me some advice, like what kind would work best.

I need the behaviorist to see details, like what his whiskers are doing, how his eyes change shape, any subtle changes in his lips, etc. As it is, I can't see his facial features on video in our normal indoor lighting. Yes, some of the recordings will be done outside, but I need inside video too.

Lowe's has a floor lamp with 3 adjustable spotlights that hold 60 watt bulbs. The link is here: http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?action=productDetail&productId=103207-76222-LS0160BK&lpage=none

Would that work for what I need? Or would flourescent or halogen be better? Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated! I don't need award winning quality, just the ability to clearly record my dog with the details visible.

Thanks!

Michelle

I'm sure those lights will work for what you need. Also, I know many photographers/videographers use shop work lights and large poster board to create some inexpensive but good lighting. You might want to rather invest in 2 or 3 less expensive individual shop lights so you can position your lighting better. But, I'm sure that light will work fine.