Trigger Nikon flash Via Canon Body ?

Discussion in 'Lighting and Hardware' started by MNiles, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. MNiles

    MNiles TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hey guys,

    So I think i'm making the switch to Canon after being a Nikon shooter for a very long time. The D800 just seems to have way to many issues already and the D4 is out of budget and also would cause a divorce. I'm thinking of going canon 5D MIII.

    Is there any way of triggering Nikon Flash units with a Canon. I don't need the flash on the camera body. I'm not going to be using this everyday but we have thousands of dollars in Nikon Flash Units that it would be a shame to let them go to waste. figured it would be nice to use them with a remote trigger. I know how to use slave mode and have the canon flash trigger them but in order to keep the wife happy i'm not going to jump into a Canon flash purchase the same day/week as my 5D purchase.

    I have some remote triggers I was going to try to get the Canon transmitter and pair it with the nikon receiver and see if that would work.

    thanks in advance.


     
  2. Mach0

    Mach0 TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    203
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    What are these " issues" with the d800?
     
  3. Bossy

    Bossy No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,372
    Likes Received:
    252
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Do you not have lenses you'll need to replace as well?

    How is the body you're using now limiting you?
     
  4. Tony S

    Tony S Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Eatonville, Washington
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Won't work with each other, they like to keep things proprietary to each other. So you most likely are going to need to use something like a Pocket Wizard or some other remote to fire off at least your flash set to Master (commander mode on Nikon?) and run the others from there. Radio remotes are much more reliable anyways than what Canon has on their system.
     
  5. KmH

    KmH In memoriam Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    41,401
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    You bet. Any Nikon flash that can be triggered as an optical slave can be triggered by the flash of light from any other camera flash. Brand of camera does not matter. It can even be the flash from an el cheapo, P&S camera.
     
  6. MNiles

    MNiles TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    @ Bossy, I'm looking to go full frame. I think I'm at the point where I could utilize full frame to my advantage and expand my learning and skill. A step above my D7000 in full frame will be a D800 or Canon 5D Mark III if i'm going new and I'm not going to buy used gear. as far as the lens go yes ill need a few new lenses but since I come from a video background we do have a few Canon L lens hanging around. My personal stash is all Nikon.

    @Mach0, Lots of Issues getting kicked around but more so low ISO and since the larger sensor can cause blur due to micro movement (documented by Nikon first few pages of the user manual) to avoid this issue I was going to drop the camera down to DX mode and use a smaller sensor area since it will do a crop but I'm hearing that does not really resolve the issue plus then i'm not really using full frame all the time like I want to.

    I'm a nikon fan boy and will keep my gear but I have always had a love for Canon products I figured this could be the push I needed to go over to Canon stills.. Mind you it's a hard choice so many things I love about Nikon like the dual dials for shutter and app right at my finger tips. I'll miss that bit.
     
  7. MNiles

    MNiles TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thanks for the info, I knew that bit but as i stated in my post I won't be buying a canon flash with the 5D body and the 5D MII and MIII don't come with a built in flash so there is no way to do a slave trigger.

    @TonyS like I said i'm not trying to stick the Nikon flash in the Canon hot Shoe I know that would never work. But was thinking as you said using a Radio based remote system. Just not sure if Pocket Wizard would work both ways.
     
  8. Tony S

    Tony S Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Eatonville, Washington
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The Pocket Wizard sends out a generic signal to another PW, it's not speedlight brand specific unless you get into the new ones that keep the ability to fire ETTL.

    This might help get yyou going in the right direction and when you do get a Canon flash here is an interesting way you can use both brands at the same time with a remote to fire them off and have metering from the flash unit itself... I'm betting a lot of folks are not aware that their flash units will do this.

    Mix and Match Canon and Nikon Flash, Wirelessly!
     
  9. MNiles

    MNiles TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Tony Thanks for the mental kick in the head. I was so focused on will the freq be the same for nikon vs canon as far as 2.4Ghz channels go that I forgot pocket wizard uses the sync cable to trigger the flash. See with the Radio Popper you stick the receiver onto the flash unit and fire away no sync cables. I was so focused on the wireless aspect of it that I forgot it was as simple as the damn sync cable.

    If I'm ever in Washington I owe you a beer ! ​
     
  10. Tony S

    Tony S Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    598
    Location:
    Eatonville, Washington
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    lol... sometimes we forget what we know already.
     
  11. KmH

    KmH In memoriam Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    41,401
    Likes Received:
    5,696
    Location:
    Iowa
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Slap one of your many Nikon flash units on the Canon's hot shoe to act as the optical trigger.
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2012
  12. Dao

    Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,423
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    St. Louis


    I used to have a SB-800 for a little while (Sold it already in here). I was able to trigger it with a cheap ebay radio trigger with my EOS 40D. I set the flash in manual mode, dial the power setting and go from there.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

flash remote trigering for nikon and cannon

,

fles bodi nikon

,

trigger nikon di body canon