Trip to SE Asia, new to dSLR market

matseski

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am traveling to Singapore to participate in a 2 week engineering course, then plan to stay in the region for another 2 weeks after that, maybe hitting Indonesia, China, and Japan for a few days each, dont quite have it planned out that much yet. I have been shooting an advanced P&S for a few years, but it did not survive a rainy skiing trip. I know, probably not the best idea in the first place, but I figured why have the camera if I am not going to use it?

So, I am in the market for a new camera, and since I am also interested in macro photography, I would like to progress to a solid dSLR system. I have been doing some research and have tried some in the stores. Based on the current lens lineup, I am leaning towards Canon for no other reason than their M-PE 65. However, I have also been lead to believe that the same results could be had with a regular macro 1:1 lens and an extension tube. Any experience with this lens and how it compares to a pieced together solution such as tubes? Note: I have no intention of purchasing this lens now as I cannot fit it into the budget with my travel and college expenses, just seemed like as good a reason as any to pick a company.

Since I will often be using this camera on ski trips and while traveling, video would be nice so as to eliminate a device to carry, but I could probably live without it.