Using poetry in photos?

counterfugue

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi -- I'm primarily a writer, and I'm just beginning to dabble in photos (just for personal interest).

I have a project I'm thinking about that involves TEXT/POETRY and photography.
It may end up becoming part of a book of poems I'm working on.

I'm considering having subjects write verse or words on sheets or slips of paper, or maybe having them write on an arm or something like that. (The idea seems to be that the text can in some way interact with subject and composition of the shot.)

I've never seen anyone do anything like this, though. (Well, maybe other than a Bob Dylan video :)

Has anyone seen anything like this? Any ideas, suggestions?

Thanks.

Duane Michals wrote stories on his prints often. I'm sure others have done similar things, but I can't think of any off the top of my head.

20091024-_igp6336.jpg

"How foolish of me to believe it would be that easy.
I had confused the appearances of trees and automobiles,
and people with reality itself, and believed that
a photograph of these appearances to be a photograph
of it. It was a meloncholy truth that I will
never be able to photograph it and can only fail.
I am a reflection photographing other reflections
within a reflection. To photograph reality
is to photograph nothing."

That's a pretty cool idea, too. To be able to bring the process and reflection into the presentation of the photo. Would work well when compiling the photos. Thanks.

(And btw, what a painful realization in the lines: that in effect, we are only capturing afterimages of something that has a truth. Pretty rad.)