Website product pic upgrade

sixthstreetocarina

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all I'm a newbie.. I've got some questions so Ill just spill them out. I'm a fulltime craftsperson/potter. I've been using a Kodak dc4800 3.1 megpics which I bought 10 odd years ago to post pictures of product on my website and I'm thinking it might be time do upgrade. I don't like rushing into things. I'm looking at getting a canon xs ,xsi or t1i and a lens. The objects I shoot are about 6" so I've been looking at the 50mm 1.8 or 85 mm 1.8. I at times need to do macro down to about the size of a quarter. What I'm looking for is good sharp images mostly for the web and e books. I've looked at the canon 100 mm macro but the $$ for what I need is a bit much.
Ok Questions?? What length lens would be best so I don't get into problems with being too close and blocking my Light. I use 3 photo lights with a light tent.
Are the better quality canon closeup lens or extention tubes a good option?
Is shotting large then cropping an ok solution?
Is going the dslr route overkill for the web or do you have a point and shot that would make my life easy?
I've posted a pic from my webpage $DCP_1139.JPG www.sixthstreetocarina.com

Oh yah. Any other tips on image quality would be great also. Backgrounds ,lighting etc. Thanks Chris

What beautiful instruments you craft! I stopped by the web site--neat!!!!!!! I actually think any number of good com pact digicams, and a tripod, and the light tent or other very "standard" studio lighting gear, would shoot amply good photos. The requirements are a tripod socket, decent 'pod, and some skill in positioning the camera, and of course, some basic lighting knowledge. I'm not all that familiar with the current digicams--there are HUNDREDS of them right now.

DSLR is overkill. You can get amazing results with a decent point and shoot. Now if you WANT a DSLR it's never over kill.