Wedding photography problems

heidirenee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a first time poster and very interested in wedding photographers views and advice on the following points.
I'm a professional photographer, and my specialty has been weddings for the past two years.

Let's begin the long post!

I am not a 'candid' photographer - i direct and pose, and acknowledge the amount of time i need for my shots by delivering a timeline and list of requirements to a wedding client before their big day. I stress the point that while plans can change on a wedding day, this is my timeline to get my required shots - if it can't be met i'll obviously still work my best, but coverage may be compromised.

HOWEVER - surely i am not the only one that runs into trouble during almost every wedding? I shot a wedding yesterday which seen me receive a text from the brides sister at 10:30pm the evening of the wedding telling me to arrive half an hour late to the grooms (it ended up being less than 30 minutes shooting time for the grooms coverage all up) and also to drive around the videographer for the day as he didn't have a car.

I had met with these people three times to discuss my work, contracts and timelines. I personally visited their house. In the end i was dealing with about three people - the bride and her two sisters.

How do you deal when there's too many 'chiefs' at a wedding? When it ends up being not only cousin Tim involved but also sister Betty and aunty Joan?
My timeline was not followed, and around 20 minutes was wasted photographing the bridesmaids receiving their gifts, simply because i was told to do that. While they have no right to complain when they see the images that there's a lack of bridal portraiture (one of the many things covered in my contract is no guarantee of shots) i feel that they will as they won't remember their complete lack of disrespect to me on the day of the wedding.