wedding photography... what do you recommend

ognistik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So it happened that a distant relative - a relative I've ever met, though - saw some of my photos online. Since she's engaged and getting married in a few months, se asked me if I'm willing to take some photos of her and her future husband... and of course, they will pay me.

Now... the thing is that even though I like photography, even though I own an SLR and a dSLR plus some lenses, I've never had a formal photoshoot. Never. Most of my photography up till now has been art, couple of portraits, some street photography... I have no light equipment or similar stuff. So I am quite unsure of how this will come out, but I think it's a good chance. I am thinking about taking the challenge and telling her before that I have no previous experience with this... however, I know some of you guys do.

what would you recommend, links online to learn about wedding photography. About the posing, scenario, etc. Perhaps some useful techniques for this kind of photography, I don't know. Anything that can help me in this quest

* edit * ok... it's an Engagement Session, sorry guys, seems that I confused you all lol, but thanks for the feedback

So will you be doing an engagement session, or pics at the wedding?

engagement session

No offense but I say do the right thing and find them a decent PROFESSIONAL wedding photographer. If you have no experience and no gear I say you run a real risk of really messing this ting up. Wedding photography is not an easy thing to do and if you are the number one guy you have alot of weight on your shoulders. If they are close you run the risk of causing a real rift and if you are not you run the risk of a very real lawsuit for chariging them and therfore representing yourself as a professional.

of course I will not present myself as a professional. I mean, the same stuff I posted here is what I will tell them.