Wedding Settings

RJMcCarl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am hoping that this is the spot I should post this... I have been photographing for about 9 years just on my own but decided this past year to go ahead and start my own business and this past minth I was hired to do my first wedding and while I thought it would be similar to my portrait photos I soon realized once I was there and then looked at my photos that many of them from the dimly lit reception was blurry and while I was able to find enough that looked alright to satisfy the customer I myself was not very happy and need to get a setting figured out before I schedule myself for another wedding.
I use a Fujifilm Finepix S200EXR and also use a Panasonic Slave Flash although I never use that slave flash because it always turns out to bright and completely washes out the photo. I was wondering what is the best setting to use while I am in a dimly lit(candle lit) indoor room for a wedding that will make the photos like the first dance or walking down the aisle photos turn out with out have blur. Thanks@

The problem is at 1.4 you would have very shallow depth of field and it might be hard to get the focus perfect. You will likely have to crank up the ISO a bit, and use a Shutter speed that will not allow motion blur, and aperature that will get you the required DOF.. Try using a monopod during the reception to help reduce your camera shake.. this will let you use a bit of a slower shutter speed.

Not that it can't be done but you're gear isn't really up to par with industry standards and no doubt makes getting great shots more difficult ;)

*official moderators note - as hot as wedding topics can be fighting/insults will not be tolerated so keep a civil tongue when replying*

*taking off the mod hat now*