What am I missing for landscape photography?

LizardKing

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everybody!

I'm planning on taking 2 weeks off to go to the very south of Patagonia, and give a real try to landscape photography. The region is pretty much all about very long hikes at the feet of the Andes, encountering glaciers, lakes and pretty cool mountains like this one: File:Cerro Fitzroy - Sunrise2.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (Monte Fitz Roy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia).

I'd like to have some input on what would be a good idea to add to my current gear before heading down there.

Sometimes I feel like I miss the wider focal lengths for landscapes, having the 28-300mm and 50mm on a crop sensor. But I'm not sure I can manage to get a wide lens right now. I still have to go out a scout for used gear, but I'm not too experienced so not sure about what to get and how much is a good price haha... Anyway, do you think I'm gonna miss much that wider end?

I think I'd also like a CPL or a Graduated ND... and these are not really that much expensive and I think they could really help me get better results.

Finally, I was thinking about some Kenko extension rings for macro, but that's another discussion and landscape is definitely the topic for me here! :mrgreen:

Am I missing something? Basically, all the gear I have is the camera, these 2 lenses, an SB-700 and a ballhead tripod.

Oh, I almost forgot... Never really read any book dedicated to landscape photography... anyone you can recommend? I was thinking about this one.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this!

Have a nice day!
Martin

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If I'm not mistaken, you forgot to mention if you already have a tripod or a monopod.