What are your "standard" changes in lightroom? Oh, and have some cake.

Desi

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi TPF,

I'm wondering if you have a "standard" set of things that you do in lightroom when PP'ing your RAW images. I've heard people to sharpening, clarity, contrast, saturation, etc.

I've been shooting in Raw for about 4-5 months and my "standard" change is: Increase contrast from 25 to about 32 and increase the vibrance from 0 to 7-9. I make those changes to almost all of my photos. Naturally, the final set of changes depends on the image and what potential I am able to "see" in the image. I'm still working on that part.

I find that if I do nothing, the images are dull. But, I can too easily overcook the image. I have a hard time seeing what is "just right"

Can you share with me your basic process? Thanks.

Oh, and here's the cake:

DSC_0219.jpg by Javier Descalzi, on Flickr

Manual, spot metering, f2.8, 1/80 ISO 500.

Oh, and some balloons too:

DSC_0222.jpg by Javier Descalzi, on Flickr
1/30, f4.5 aperture priority, center weighted. ISO 1600.

From the kid's birthday party this weekend, they turned three.

For these two images I just made my "standard" change.

Thanks for your thoughts.

The standard is just strictly WB and exposure. That's it. Everything else is depend on the photo (indoor or outdoor, weather, outfit, season, vegetation etc.).

Each image will demand it's own processing.

I've been shooting in Raw for about 4-5 months and my "standard" change is: Increase contrast from 25 to about 32 and increase the vibrance from 0 to 7-9. I make those changes to almost all of my photos. Naturally, the final set of changes depends on the image and what potential I am able to "see" in the image. I'm still working on that part.
If you find yourself doing those edits on most of your images, you can set up an import preset and have Lightroom do that automatically when you import.