What should be added to my equipment for portraits.

Seventen

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Something very exciting just happened, got a message that a friend of a friend wants me to do some images for them for making a calender for gifts. Its just some fun family shots, dressing the children up in like Easter bunny suits and Santa suits etc.
I can't charge them for this for a couple of reasons, 1) I am not a registered business and 2) I am currently on a long term sick leave. So the exchange of money can not happen for legal reasons.
But I told them I am new to portraits and my equipment is not that of a professional and my images still need a come along a lot. They said the images they saw of mine seem plenty fine. So we agreed we wont exchange money but what I would like from this is to have the use of the images for a portfolio and to maybe upload to the internet. They agreed to this but only after Christmas they don't want people seeing the images before the gift is passed on as we have common friends here.

But to the point I want some very nice looking images here and if there is any suggestions on some lighting or something that could be of use for a mobile portrait shoot would be very handy. Even looking at the big picture if its something that one day could be of use in a mobile photography situation would be handy. A upgrade to the D7100 is happening over the next couple of months so items must also be compatible for this.

Current items that use.
Nikon d5100
Nikkor 1.8 35mm
Tamron 90mm VC USD
Tamron 70 - 300 VC USD
SB 700
42 inch reflector
a tripod to mount the flash on

Some images may be taken outside if weather is fine but we have a lack of daylight now so will be dull. Unless the snow hangs around and then that helps light up a little.