What's causing this effect? Polarizer?

Hovik

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.drivingforceclub.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, just a quick question. I do mostly auto photography and recently I've noticed this rainbow light effect on windshields and headlights of cars. Sometimes it's really severe and looks terrible.

70-200 F4 IS on 5D3 with B+W Polarizer MRC Filter

Bqljno1.jpg

16-35 F4 IS on 5D3 with Kenko Filter.

zqYJUyP.jpg

I don't remember having this issue with my 5D2 previously, just got the 5D3 recently and the above shots are some of the first taken with it.

Another shot from last week, also with 70-200:

XN5ibOF.jpg

It doesn't look good and creates more post processing work to get rid of it. Any idea what could be causing this? I'm no pro, so if it's a very simple answer, please forgive me! lol

THANKS

It is the UV / Anti Glare coating built into glass and plastics. I have polarizing sun glasses that I wear and I can see the same thing your camera does while wearing them. As far as how to eliminate it, I am not sure. I just wanted you to know what it was. Hopefully someone on here can tell you how to correct it.

its the CPL. but you should have it rotated so it doesn't do that...

I doubt rotating a CPL will eliminate the effect. More likely, you'll need to remove it.

Polarization often causes that when shooting curved glass, plastics, etc. Stress points get that rainbow-like effect.

All these forum posts that ask about Lightroom vs Photoshop... This is one time when I'd probably take the image into Photoshop. You can creat a mask in Photoshop and then desaturate the image to remove it. A quick way to inspect this is to switch to the channels tab in Photoshop and inspect the "Luminence" channel. If that channel looks good, then creat a mask. Edits will not be applied to masked-off areas. This would allow you to remove the color only from the effected areas.